Written by Daniel Muñoz on .

Publication in 1923 of the story: El hombre de los ojos azules, in the Caras y Caretas journal of Buenos Aires. With this story Manuel Rojas won the third price.

Awards Recieved by Manuel Rojas

During his life Manuel Rojas received numerous awards. Initially he participated in some literary contests, organised by Argentinian and Chilean newspapers, as a way of make a living. Subsequently, Rojas was recognized with the highest honors both in Chile and abroad. The following are some of the awards received by Manuel Rojas :

  • 1922 : Second place in La Mañana Newspaper Contest of Buenos Aires – Argentina, with the story Laguna. The first prize went to Elias Castelnuovo.
  • 1923 : Third place in the Story Contest of Caras y Caretas Journal of Buenos Aires – Argentina, whith the story Leyendas de la Patagonia: El hombre de los ojos azules. Later this story was just titled: El hombre de los ojos azules.
  • 1929 : Marcial Martínez y Premio Award and Atenea Award from the University of Concepción. Both awards were given to the Rojas’s story: El delincuente, title of his second collection of short stories.
  • 1930 : Marcial Martínez Cuadros Prize of the Faculty of Law and Social Sciences of the University of Chile.
  • 1931 : First prize of La Nación Newspaper Contest of Santiago – Chile, with his first novel: Lanchas en la bahía.
  • 1951: National Novel Prize of Santiago – Chile, with his novel Born Guilty (Hijo de ladrón).
  • 1957: Chilean National Literary Award, granted by the State of Chile. The prize was awarded by a unanimous jury. The jury was composed by: Juan Gómez Millas, dean of the University of Chile; Carlos Préndez Saldías, representing the Minister of Education and Ricardo Latcham of the Chilean Writers Association.
  • 1958 : Mauricio Fabry Prize from the Chilean Book Chamber, for his novel Mejor que el vino.
  • 1958 : Manuel Rojas received the Distinguished Citizen of Valparaíso title, awarded by the Municipality of Valparaíso, at a ceremony where this title was also handed over to the writers Salvador Reyes and Joaquín Edwards Bello.


The Manuel Rojas Hibero-American Award for Fiction is the highest recognition that the State of Chile grants to hibero-american writers. The award, which is sponsored by the Manuel Rojas Foundation, is granted by the National Council of Culture and Arts of the Chilean Government and is accorded by an international jury.

The Manuel Rojas award is handed over once a year to a renowned author whose literary work highlight at an hibero-american level. The award was first granted in 2012 and includes a diploma, a medal and the sum of 60.000.- us dollars, which makes it one of the most important awards of the spanish and lusophone literary world.

Manuel Rojas Award / 2013: Ricardo Piglia

Ricardo Piglia Premio Manuel Rojas
The Argentine writer Ricardo Piglia was chosen as the winner of 2013 Manuel Rojas Award. Awarded for the second consecutive year by the National Council for Culture and Arts, in Valparaiso – Chile. The author, described by the jury as “an imperative writer that has opened the horizons of narrative in the Spanish language”, received the news from Valparaiso by the Minister of Culture, Roberto Ampuero.

Manuel Rojas Award / 2012: Rubem Fonseca

Brazilian writer Rubem Fonseca won the inaugural Manuel Rojas Award, the equivalent in the field of fiction to the Pablo Neruda Chilean Award for poetry. The decision was held in Santiago – Chile in September 2012 by an international jury. Fonseca is now one of the most recognized Latin American writers, through its crime novels, its dry and sharp writing, he beautifully describes the harsh reality of the slums of Rio de Janeiro.

[shareaholic app=”share_buttons” id=”5732944″]

Apoye a la Fundación

Si usted tiene información o material sobre Manuel Rojas y quiere compartirlo o hacer una donación, por favor tome contacto con la Fundación. De antemano agradecemos su apoyo y generosidad.